SCPOR provides funding for students interested in patient-oriented health research (MSc, Phd, Postdoc, Medical Residents & Research Assistants). To qualify, student trainees MUST be working on patient-oriented research projects that align with the Saskatchewan Health System Strategic Priorities. At the University of Saskatchewan, the trainee selection process is determined by the home department/college that contributed to SCPOR trainees.

U of S funding is open to students in the following departments/colleges:

  • College of Nursing
  • College of Medicine
  • College of Pharmacy & Nutrition
  • Community Engagement & Outreach
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Math & Stats
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Psychology
  • Edwards School of Business
  • Veterinary Medicine

For more information about U of S SCPOR trainees, please contact the SCPOR office at

U of R funding is open to students in any Faculty or Academic Unit, including:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Business Administration
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science
  • Faculty of Kinesiology + Health Studies
  • Faculty of Media, Art and Performance
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Work
  • Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy
  • La Cité universitaire francophone
  • Federated Colleges of UofR: Campion, FNUniv, Luther

* IPHRC has funding dedicated to Indigenous students

At the U of R, the trainee selection process is facilitated by the Research Office. For more information, please contact


SCPOR Trainee Intake form – Please fill out this form if you are interested in funding for a trainee.

Trainee Terms of Reference – Please read this before filling out the Trainee intake form.

Trainee Annual Progress Report – This report is required for all trainees who have been awarded a SCPOR Graduate Student Scholarship (Masters or PhD) or a SCPOR Postdoctoral Fellow Scholarship. The Annual Progress Report is due on March 31st each year.

SCPOR would like recognize the current trainees who are working on SCPOR supported patient-oriented research projects:

  • Heider Al Mashalah, MSc student in the Department of Industrial Systems Engineering, University or Regina. Supervisor: Dr. Eman Almehdawe. Heider is studying the impact of emergency department occupancy at Regina General Hospital on patient length of stay.
  • Tracey Carr, Post-Doctoral Fellow in the Department of Community Health and Epidemiology. Supervisor: Dr. Gary Groot. University of Saskatchewan. Tracey is researching the role of trust and worldview on shared decision making for Indigenous people with cancer.
  • Jane Caulfield, MSc student in Edwards School of Business, University of Saskatchewan. Supervisor: Dr. Marjorie Delbaere. Jane’s project focuses on consumer perceptions of public health initiatives.
  • Lucia New, PhD student in College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. Supervisor: Dr. Donna Goodridge. Lucia’s project focuses on patient safety initiatives in acute care settings, gaining the perspectives of patients and families.
  • Carrie Pratt, MSc student in the College of Nursing, University of Saskatchewan. Supervisor: Dr. Angela Bowen. Carrie’s project investigates indigenous women’s perspectives on culturally secure birth practices.
  • Jennifer Sedgewick, MSc student in the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, University of Saskatchewan. Supervisor: Dr. Thomas Rotter. Jennifer’s project involves amalgamating a face-to-face systematic review course and on-line course into a blended systematic review to course.
  • Linzi Williamson, PhD Student, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Science. Supervisors: Dr. Karen Lawson and Dr. Colleen Dell. Linzi is conducting an evaluation of PAWISITIVE Support, an animal assisted invention in the treatment of addictions and mental health.
  • Farzana Ali, PhD Student in the Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, College of Medicine. Supervisor: Dr. Anne Leis. Farzana is pursuing a two phase study with the intention of developing a model of patient engagement for immigrant women, which will support culturally-respectful care.
  • Kassondra Collins, PhD Student in the Department of Rehabilitation Science, College of Medicine. Supervisor: Dr. Audrey Zucker-Levin. Kassondra is identifying and prioritizing care gaps to inform future interventions capable of improving the outcomes of people affected by amputation.
  • Aisha Rafiq, PhD student in the College of Medicine. Supervisor: Dr. Gary Groot. Aisha is collecting and analyzing data to assist in the improvement of colonoscopies.
  • Jordan Woodsworth, Master’s student. Western College of Veterinary Medicine. Supervisor: Dr. Tasha Epp. Jordan is assessing the impact of temporary veterinary services delivered to a specific region of Saskatchewan.
  • Wanda Seidikoski Yurach, PhD Student in the College of Medicine. Supervisor: Dr. Caroline Tait. Wanda’s research looks at identifying factors, which contribute and protect vulnerability to secondary traumatic stress.
  • Julia Grummisch, PhD Student in the Department of Psychology at the University Regina. Supervisor: Dr. Jennifer Gordon. Julia is assessing the estrogen levels and objective cognitive performance within premenopausal women.
  • Seint Kokokyi, PhD Student in the Department of Psychology at the University of Regina. Supervisor: Dr. Bridget Blest. Seint is investigating the healthcare experiences of female survivors of interpersonal violence.

SCPOR/Indigenous Peoples’ Health Research Centre (IPHRC) Research Award Winners 2018

  • Meredith Burles, Post Doc. University of Saskatchewan, College of Nursing . Supervisor: Dr. Jill Bally. Meredith is exploring the experiences of aboriginal family caregivers of children with life-threatening and life-limiting illness in Saskatchewan.
  • Marlene McNab, PhD student. University of Regina, Johnson Shoyama Graduate of Public Policy. Supervisor: Dr. Kathleen McNutt. Marlene is researching the healing of integrated intergenerational trauma and addictions: koskonatayohkan.
  • Shane Keepness, PhD student. University of Victoria, Human and social development. Supervisors: Dr. Gerald Taiaiake Alfred and Dr. Charlotte Loppie. Shane is studying land-based practices and improved community health.
  • Indiana Best, Master’s student. University of Saskatchewan, School of Public Health. Supervisors: Dr. Colleeen Dell and Dr. Barbara Fornssler. Indiana is researching the alignment of Metis cultural interventions in harm reduction services and treatment options for members of the Metis community who face problematic substance use in Saskatoon.
  • Devin Iuliano, Master’s student. University of Saskatchewan, Department of Environmental Sustainability. Supervisor: Dr. Robert Patrick. Devin is studying the Source Water Protection Plan at Sturgeon Lake First Nation.