The SCPOR Launch

Top: Minister of Health Jane Philpott speaks to the Launch audience; lower left, Gilbert Kewistep, Knowledge Keeper; lower right, Paul Merriman, MLA for Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland.

SCPOR officially launched April 18, 2017, at the beautiful Gordon Oakes Red Bear Student Centre on the University of Saskatchewan campus. Honouring both the Centre and SCPOR’s commitment to Indigenous health research, the launch was opened with a prayer by Gilbert Kewistep, Indigenous Knowledge Keeper and Cultural Advisor for the First Nations and Métis Health Service. The Honourable Jane Philpott, Canada’s Minister of Health, and Paul Merriman, MLA for Saskatoon Siverspring-Sutherland and Government House Leader, both spoke on the value of patient-oriented research and their governments’ commitment to improved health care delivery through research.

Minister of Health Jane Philpott and MLA Paul Merriman together with representatives from SCPOR’s provincial partners. 

Back row, left to right: Nancy Mason Mclellan, Canadian Institutes of Health Research; David Malloy, University of Regina; Patrick Odnokon, Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation; Candace Skrapek, Patient/Family Advisor; Helen Kenyon, SCPOR; Petrina McGrath, Saskatoon Health Region; Peter Stoicheff, University of Saskatchewan; Tami Denomi, Government of Saskatchewan; Merek Radomski, University of Saskatchewan.
Front row, left to right: Dennis Kendel, Health Qualty Council; Netha Dyck, Sask Polytechnic; Minister of Health Jane Philpott; Elan Paluck, Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region; Susan Shaw, Saskatchewan Health Quality Council; Darcy Marciniuk, University of Saskatchewan; Pat Stuart, Prince Albert Parkland Health Region; Susan Antosh, eHealth Saskatchewan; Karen Chad, University of Saskatchewan; Gordon McKay, University of Saskatchewan; Paul Merriman, MLA for Saskatoon Silverspring-Sutherland

Top photo: SCPOR staff. Standing left to right: Tina Murdock, Kate Dunn, Helen Kenyon, Barb Colvin, Kirstin Scansen-Isbister, Cassandra Wajuntah, Janice Hobbes. Seated left to right: Tracey Sherin, Jocelyn Ulvich, Malori Keller. Missing from picture: Kim Hill and Shane Keepness.

Bottom left picture: Candace Skrapek, Patient and Family Advisor and co-chair of the Patient Family Advisory Committee for SCPOR; Bottom right: Helen Kenyon, Executive Director for SCPOR.